Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Full brake pad change  (Read 2114 times)

Offline Bulldogady

• Versys Pro
  • Bike: Versys 1000
  • City / Town: Lincoln
Full brake pad change
« on: April 30, 2016, 09:57:31 PM »
Completed a full brake pad change today and I am pleased to report it was simple and quick. Started with the rear and removed the exhaust can. This made access easier. Discovered that only one of the two securing bolts on the caliper is accessible but turned out not to be a problem as it pivots up and away on that bolt, so only need to remove the rear one. Old pads were about 80% shot after 18,000 miles.
The front pads were extremely easy to change. They were about 50% done but I decided to change them anyway ready for a Scotland tour next week. If I can do this it must be easy! I have some really knowledgeable mates who have taught me stuff. Thanks to them.  :031:

Offline 100milesaway

• Versys God
  • Bike: Versys 650 MK3
  • City / Town: Leyburn. N Yorks
Re: Full brake pad change
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2016, 08:27:35 AM »
Yes, this is one benefit of the big Vs simply specification, it allows folk to do stuff that normally, with more exotic stuff you would send to a dealer.  As you say doing pads on the Versys is a doddle :152:
If man evolved from monkeys, why are there still monkeys?

Offline Himself

• Versys Pro
  • Adventure Before Dementia
  • Bike: Ex 2017 GT Owner
  • City / Town: Newark, Notts
« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2018, 03:30:21 PM »
Little did I know that two and a half years ago, you had posted the answer to my last 30 minutes in the garage wondering how I could get that front bolt out.

Answer - You don't have to. Shame I've put it all back together now. Still, that is what tomorrow is for

Thank you  :002:
I was seduced by a 1000SX and gave into temptation

Online TallyRex

• Versys Master
  • Bike: V1K, 900RS, ZRX1200
  • City / Town: Tallahassee
« Reply #3 on: December 26, 2018, 10:43:23 AM »