Author Topic: New member here!  (Read 1198 times)

Offline Organist

• Versys Newbie
  • Bike: versus 1000 GT
  • City / Town: Pagham
New member here!
on: May 20, 2018, 07:12:43 PM
Dear Versys friends,

I'm new to the world of Versys, picking up my Versys 1000 grand Tourer next Friday! It's the biggest bike I've ever owned and I have to say I'm a little scared, having previously owned a lovely W800 from new. I sold it reluctantly two years ago when I moved abroad and couldn't take it with me. Having now returned to the UK I have found that regrettably it's not made anymore, so I decided to try out other bikes. I tried out the BMW F800gt but found it rather uncomfortable for long distance and the luggage was SO expensive! I also looked at the Yamaha tracer (700&900) and other offerings from the major manufacturers. I then decided on a new 650 Versys but having set my heart on one, took it out for a spin and was so massively disappointed. The dealership (Alf's motorcycles) suggested that I try the 1000cc version and I reluctantly agreed. Well just managing it off the forecourt was enough to convince me....it is such a beautifully, tracktable and understanding machine - please bear in mind that I've never owned a machine with more than two cylinders OR with more than 50hp, so you can understand my trepidation!! I took it for a spin on the same route that I had done on the 650 and returned with a smile as wide as a mile! Also very impressed with the 55mpg I got too! Without prevarication I bought a beautiful fully dressed one with all the accessories including grip heaters and am excited beyond belief! I thank you for your welcome and as instructed, a virtual drink is on its way to you all! Thanks for reading my waffle, but I'm so glad to be out of my car and on two wheels again!! XXX

Offline markymark11

• Versys Pro
  • Bike: Carbon Grey - 2016
  • City / Town: Basingstoke
Re: New member here!
Reply #1 on: May 20, 2018, 07:28:09 PM