Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Communication system & GPS  (Read 1087 times)

Offline Claude

• Versys Pro
  • City / Town: Victoriaville Quebec
Communication system & GPS
« on: January 06, 2019, 05:04:33 AM »
I’m thinking at getting some electronics to help the summer trips but I have zero knowledge about those products.
I would like a GPS or a device acting like my car’s navigation and a communication system that would allows:
- Listening to the GPS
- Talk with my passenger
- Possibly listening music (both pillion and I)

Any link that would provide basic knowledge about this?
What are the popular choices for those apparels!

Note: not interested in using my cell phone for those duties
Thanks!

Offline TYKE

• Versys Mega God
  • Bike: Vivamus inter Versys
  • City / Town: Northern Ireland .
Re: Communication system & GPS
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 07:05:29 AM »
GPS options basically boil down to either Tom Tom or Garmin, I think the latest Tom Tom model is the rider 400, however I use Garmin so am not sure about Tom Tom models/specifications, I'm sure others will be along to advise.

Garmin have an extensive range of Motorcycle GPS devices, MAKE SURE YOU CHOOSE A MOTORCYCLE SPECIFIC DEVICE, as they are water resistant. Prices for Garmin units vary and you will need to shop around for the best deal, if choosing a Garmin select an LM model, this means Lifetime Maps which inludes free updates on maps which works out much cheaper.

As you haven't used GPS before you will need to initially familiarise yourself with their functionality and I would suggest utilising youtube where you will find good tutorials.