Author [ES] [CA] [PL] [PT] [IT] [DE] [FR] [NL] [DK] [NO] [GR] [TR] Topic: Stuck oil filter  (Read 1038 times)

Offline weljo2001

• Versys God
  • Bike: 2016 Versys 1000LT
  • City / Town: Norwalk,CA
Re: Stuck oil filter
« Reply #10 on: March 19, 2019, 06:33:24 PM »
Yep, I had to take a screw driver to the filter that came on my V-1K.....

First Oil Change 600 miles by weljo2001, on Flickr

I've been using this PCS-1 Re-Usable Filter since 2010 on my last 3 bikes. The nut on it make it super easy to get on and off....

First Oil Change 600 miles by weljo2001, on Flickr
I'm not a Gynecologist. "But I'll Take A Look"

Everyone has a plan 'till they get punched in the mouth...Mike Tyson

"Ya'll can go to hell, I'm goin' to Texas!"...Davey Crockett

Offline Sonny

• Versys God
  • Bike: '15 V1K LT, VN900C
  • City / Town: DFW, TX
« Reply #11 on: March 19, 2019, 06:47:42 PM »
*Originally Posted by Sir Rupert [+]
Be careful with the screwdriver method: some bikes used to have (still have?) a tube cast as part of the crankcase which projects quite some distance inside the filter.  :760:

As I recall, the oil filter pipe protrudes a short distance past the gasket face, only enough to engage an O-ring on the perforated central tube in the filter. If the screwdriver isn't put through right up against the bottom inch of the filter it won't hit it. Examining the service manual, the filter pipe is a separate part on the V1K, not cast into the crankcase. That's a smart feature.  :028:
« Last Edit: March 19, 2019, 06:49:50 PM by Sonny »
G2Ergo throttle tube, Givi Airflow screen, Dan Moto carbon fiber exhaust, Grip Puppies, Moto Werk bar risers, Kaw rad guard

Offline hobzinho

• Versys Pro
  • Bike: V1k '16
  • City / Town: N. CA
« Reply #12 on: March 20, 2019, 02:38:26 AM »
*Originally Posted by Sir Rupert [+]
Glad you got it sorted  :152: