Author Topic: Cleaning the bike with S100: what's aluminium?  (Read 1501 times)

Offline Joeri999

• Versys Pro
  • Bike: STOLEN '17 V1K black
  • City / Town: Tilburg
Re: Cleaning the bike with S100: what's aluminium?
Reply #10 on: March 23, 2019, 07:52:12 PM
*Originally Posted by Crosshairs [+]
Just an FYI, I have been cleaning my 2016 Versys with S100 for 2 years and there is not a single spot or mark anywhere on the bike.
I've also used it on other bikes for over 6 years with the same results..... spray it on, scrub the really dirty spots with a soft brush and hose it off.... but  this is my experience, yours may differ....

Hey thanks Crosshairs, in that case: let's spray it on!  :763:

Offline stillsteamn

• Versys Member
  • Bike: Versys1K, Kymco S250
  • City / Town: Bloomington, MN
Reply #11 on: April 05, 2019, 03:52:25 PM
I've also been using S100 for years on my Victory with no ill effect on any types of surfaces, as far as I've noticed.  I suspect it would only be a problem on raw aluminum if you did not rinse it off well after cleaning.  IMHO S100 works very well, I like it and I plan to use it on the V1000.  I also used the S100 Engine Brightener to restore the blackness to the black power-coated engine parts that started to gray out on the Victory, and that stuff works.
Corbin seat, Puig windshield, windshield gps bracket, Tak-Lok throttle lock, Grip Puppies, Puig fender extender, Kawi 12V socket

Offline Kawafour

• Versys Member
  • Bike: 2016 Versys 1000 LT
  • City / Town: Jacksonville Florida
Reply #12 on: April 06, 2019, 10:25:56 AM
I am surprised nobody mentioned that S100 has been reported for decades to damage the paint on BMW engines . A quick google search found items like this:

" BMW says not to use S100 on their bikes?
I have just taken ownership of a 1991 K75s which needs some serious cleaning, especially under the tank. But....The Clymer manual has this to say: (page 31)